Dachshund X Labrador = Dachsador!

Years back there was a car called the Chevy Vega.  It had a nice looking body, but was built with a gutless, underpowered, cheap engine.  What could have been a real nice car and even a bold step in the direction toward smaller and more fuel efficient cars that history shows that GM needed to go in was instead one of the worst cars in the history of GM.

Until the cars started ending up on the trash heap and kids started putting 350 V-8s under the hood.  What you ended up with was a subcompact car with muscle car oomph.

The same principle was carried out more professionally with the Shelby Cobra: you take a little car body and cram a 427 inch Corvette RAT engine in it and you get something special.

Heck, it works great with cars; why not try it with dogs?

There are all kinds of breeds of dogs out there, of course.  And then when you add in the fact that dogs have a way of ignoring the rules and creating their own breeds of “mutts,” well, it truly takes all kinds to make up a world.

I’m here to talk about what happens when you take a “big block Labrador” and put it into a “compact Dachshund body.”  You get this:

Aint she pretty?

I love dogs, and have always found them to be incredibly beautiful creatures to go along with the fact that they are world-class athletes.  If dogs were allowed to compete in the Olympics, they’d end up with pretty much all of the medals for pretty much all of the track and field and swimming events.

I’ve always particularly loved the big dog breeds, such as the Rottweilers that I’ve had.  There is simply nothing like watching a big dog running with the big dogs.

But this 42 lb Dachshund-Labrador mix has truly opened my eyes to the middleweight class of dogdom.  In the case of this one, she’s basically an “atomic Dachshund,” complete with webbed feet like a Lab, a weight that’s right near the middle between a 20 lb Dachshund and a 60 lb Labrador Retriever female, and legs that are about twice as long as a Dachshund’s but about 3/4s as long as a Labrador’s.

This is a dog that might have happened “by accident,” or might have been the result of “designer breeding.”  When I finally figured out what my little darling was, I discovered that “Dachsadors” are a designer breed.  You’ll have to “ask an expert” how you breed a Dachshund with a Labrador.  And if you find out, please tell me so I can finally have an answer for all the people who have asked me just that very question.

She is a high-speed, low-drag low-earth orbiting ballistic missile system when she’s in full-pursuit of a rabbit or squirrel.  And this is a dog that has now caught a jackrabbit – and believe me that aint exactly easy! – in addition to a few cottontails (it turns out neither rabbit species particularly like to be caught and literally SCREAM until I make her put them down).  She’s got a combination of speed and agility that has to be seen to be believed.  I call it torque; she’s got those powerful leg muscles and that short running stroke to get going fast REAL quick.  It is not unusual at all to see her run with both sets of legs parallel to the ground at the same time.  It’s almost like she’s flying, and all she needs is a little superdog cape:

She’s a very athletic thing that loves to jump as much as she loves to just plain flat-out haul ass:

I often just find myself simply admiring her exquisite musculature and shape:

I find her to be a beautifully muscled and beautifully proportioned dog.  I love watching her trot along so easily and gracefully with her beautiful wheaton coat gliding over her ribs and muscles:

And of course she has been since the day we brought her home as a little puppy:

She’s just been a tremendous little dog, and I love her dearly.

A few extra details about her:

She is without question the most joyful dog I have ever been around.  She will wag her tail if you just LOOK at her.  She loves to play and can keep herself quite entertained by throwing one of her toys into the air and catching it.  And frequently she’ll just get a little bee in her bonnet and start racing through the house at top speed with a happy-to-be-alive gleam in her eyes.  She’s got a few different courses to race on.  And the more I laugh the more she runs.  When I adopted her, she was a nearly 10 week-old puppy in a glass cage at a shelter, and had been in the cage for close to 2 weeks.  When she was introduced to her back yard she ran like a happy little fool and just never really got over her love of running.

She is also the most remarkable dog I’ve ever seen in remembering where things were and any kind of change.  If anything in the house gets moved for any reason, she KNOWS about it and zeroes right in on it.  If she’s out in the desert and something new got blown or placed or built or dumped anywhere near her domain, she is instantly aware of it.

And she likes to watch TV more than any dog I’ve ever heard of – especially if there are animals on.  I’ve had on the Westminster dog show and she has watched enraptured for a good half hour straight.  When one of her “shows” comes on in the form of a commercial, she recognizes it by the music jingle and looks up on cue just when the dogs appear.  She will wag her tail at certain times, perk her ears at certain moments, etc.  She loves to watch horses, but is quite interested in just about anything that has just about any kind of animal.

When I got her and figured out what she was (the shelter labeled her as “a red and white hound mix”), I discovered that people were intentionally breeding these “Dachsadors.”  You can easily understand why when you think about it.  Labradors are and have been THE most popular breed of dog by AKC registration because of their many fine qualities.  Dachshunds have been slipping, going from as high as the fourth most registered breed of dog in 2004 to the sixth most in 2006, to the eighth most in 2010 and the ninth most last year.  But obviously a lot of people see a lot of positive traits in both breeds of dog.

So why not put them together?  What you end up with is a medium-sized dog of excellent temperament and intelligence.  And if you really want a Labrador Retriever but can’t have a dog that large, well, why not shrink it down?

The people who know dogs that look at my little darling see a Labrador face from the front and a Dachshund face from the side.  And I always enjoy being around dog lovers who will come over and tell me they’ve never seen anything like her, and how beautiful she is and what a great shape she has.

I’m glad she’s female because while my Rottweilers were “macho dogs,” this one is definitely “daddy’s little girl.”

P.S. I mentioned that I’m a Rottweiler lover.  It’s amazing how different dogs can be and how wonderful they are at being the incredible things they were bred to be.  My last Rottweiler was HUGE by Rottweiler standards – standing nearly 32″ at the shoulder (in the realm of Great Dane height!), weighing in at nearly 200 lbs, and standing about 6’6″ on his hind legs (I’m 6’2″ and he could jump up with his front paws over my shoulder and look me right in the eye – and he was leaning at an angle).  He was the product of very large parents which led to a 3-puppy litter that allowed him to get as big as the genes from already large parents would allow him to get.  He was incredibly smart and impossibly strong.  That dog could easily knock a big, strong man down and that man wouldn’t get up unless and until that Rott wanted to let him get up.  Before him, we had two brothers who were what we called “muttweilers” being the result of a purebred female and the neighbor’s 3/4 Rott-1/4 German Shepherd who jumped the fence.  I used to go backpacking in the Willamette National Forest and reuglarly went on 3 day outings.  I would hike from 10-15 miles a day, depending on the leg, while the dogs chased each other off the leash.  I kid you not, those dogs would run at least 150 miles a day each of the three days.  No human being who ever lived could have begun to do what those dogs did EASILY.  One year I took one of them to visit my parents and my father and I went hiking.  That dog loved to walk ahead, but he didn’t know which way we would go at one point where the trail split.  And when my dad took the uphill path, the only way the dog could get ahead of him was to jump up a rocky outcropping that we figured was easily 8′ high.  That Rottweiler mix took one step back and MADE that jump; at the very top he had to pull himself up with his front legs with an effort my dad found as amazing as the jump itself.

Dogs are just amazing, aren’t they?  And the only thing they do better than their many amazing feats of speed, agility, leaping, strength, endurance, etc., etc., is be the best companions in the world.

Hope you enjoyed my show-and-tell about my dog!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

54 Responses to “Dachshund X Labrador = Dachsador!”

  1. marksdorcel Says:

    It’s awesome how different pets can be and how amazing they are at being the awesome factors they were meticulously to be.

  2. Michael Eden Says:

    marksdorcel,

    That’s ultimately the lesson I learned in this “little dog.”

    I had been wearing blinders to the “big dogs.” I would have argued with you that anything a little dog can do – except curl up on your lap – a big dog can do BETTER. Heck, I would have presented a bunch of arguments for that and maybe even convinced you.

    But this dog runs through the desert brush like nothing I’ve ever seen. She runs under things without breaking stride that would slow down taller dogs. And her medium-length legs (her legs are just right between the long legs of a Lab and the short legs of a Dachshund) give her amazing agility and balance with a low center of gravity.

    There are so many breeds that were bred for a reason and which fulfill their design magnificently, and there are so many combinations as those dogs in turn breed with other breeds. Dogs are amazing creatures and it’s an amazing world.

  3. Millie Says:

    Love your little dachsador! She is very sweet and you can tell she is very fast! And as to how this can come about, I’m assuming that artificial insemination is a key component of this, lab dam and doxie sire. And so nice to hear you speak kindly and lovingly. I know you get all wrapped up in the liberal thing and I’m slowing working my way through your essays, all very good, by the way!

  4. Michael Eden Says:

    Thank you, Millie!

    Thank you in particular for enjoying this article about my beloved little dog and for reading my other articles.

    You probably know this better than I do, as I’d never even HEARD of this combination before: but “Dachsadors” are now a “designer breed.” And one that never would have occurred to me until I saw my first one.

    I actually AM a “kind and loving” man if you had a chance to know me. My walks with this sleek little rabbit-chasing machine of mine are the hightlight of my day because I have that 2 hour opportunity to reflect and to pray.

    It’s interesting that you mention me getting “all wrapped up in the liberal thing” in the context of being speaking “kindly and lovingly.” Because I believe they are related.

    Think of a parent who sees his child carelessly wandering into a traffic-filled street. That father is furious with anger because unlike his child he sees what is coming clearly and BECAUSE OF HIS LOVE the consequences of the disaster he sees coming are so terrible. And if a predator threatens his child that good father is ready to fight because of his love for his child and the threat that predator presents.

    From the very first moment that I saw the videos of Rev. Jeremiah Wright saying, “No, no, no! NOT God bless America! God DAMN America!” and realized that Barack Obama had spent 23 years in that racist, bigoted, hateful, toxic, anti-American, Marxist temple, I clearly saw in Barack Obama a truly evil man who had put on a mask to fool the country and lead it to its demise.

    And as someone who has served his country and who loves this nation and what it has historically stood for, yes, I am far more angry than kind and loving to those whom I see threatening it.

    We’re at a point where the “independent” is increasingly foolish. And I say that because too such completely and entirely disparate worldviews are being presented that I shout that such people need to get the hell off the fence and finally choose a side. If you want more government, bigger government, more spending, more debt, more class warfare, fewer moral values, then your choice is clear. If you want less government, smaller government, less spending, less debt, more true equality, more Judeo-Christian-based worldview values, then your choice is clear.

    If you want the former, then I believe my articles document why I truly believe you are a threat and why I as one who loves my country am willing to take you on any way I need to. If you want the latter, then I urge you to understand the issues better and get more involved. And if you’re an “independent” I increasingly look at you the way I would look at someone who watched a child heading into a busy street and did nothing to stop the terrible accident because you couldn’t make up your mind which side to be on.

    I didn’t say any of that to criticize, and I feel you must be basically conservative to want to continue reading my political articles, but rather just to offer an explanation of why I am so passionate about what I see happening in this country.

    My little dog is periodically threatened by rattlesnakes and by coyotes. I am constantly on the watch for both as we walk and ready to deal with any threat to my beautiful girl. When I had my two Rottweilers the food chain worked the other way (with the coyotes) and they were not so active or able to get under the shrubs where the rattlers can be lurking. When I had the Rotts, I’d see a coyote and think “What a beautiful and majestic creature!” Now that I have a dog who is on their diet, I think, “What a nasty, vicious little monster!” It’s funny how much angrier you can get when what you love is vulnerable and subject to being attacked and injured or killed.

    Thanks for your reading,
    Michael

  5. Peppie Says:

    I have an awesome little doxie/lab mix named Marshall, he really is the best of both breeds. Smart, energy beyond belief, friendly, no one is a stranger, but can be shy. They are truly a wonderful good natured dog. He can run like no other dog I have owned, I take him out late at night so he can run, and run he does like a crazy dog. Love watching him because it is his fun. I have always liked dachunds, but only take rescue dogs. My daughter was working a dog rescue event and this little dog was in the cage and no one was really looking at him because of all the cute puppies, he was about a year old. She saw him in the cage looking all sad, took him out and started playing with him, well that was the beginning of a love affair that is still going strong today, with the whole family. This dog was truly a jewel that everyone was overlooking. The rescue people were worried that because he wasn’t a little puppy he may not get adopted. At least for this dog the story has a happy ending, he is healthy, happy and with a family that truly loves this little dog.

  6. Michael Eden Says:

    Peppie,

    Glad to hear from you. Thanks for sharing your experience of what we have both found to be amazing dogs.

    You bring out a few details that I have in common with you:

    Smart, energy beyond belief, friendly, no one is a stranger, but can be shy

    My girl is the same way. This is a dog who will go with me on a 4+ mile hike – in which she chases absolutely everything that will run, fly or crawl from her or is actively looking for something to chase – and then come home and go on a 3 minute full-speed tear through the house. All with the most joyful look on her face.

    She is a very sweet-natured dog, but actually started out as a “submissive urinator” by peeing everytime she met somebody. She is still very thrilled to meet new people, but is that little bit shy and afraid.

    You said:

    He can run like no other dog I have owned, I take him out late at night so he can run, and run he does like a crazy dog. Love watching him because it is his fun.

    Ditto. I’ve never seen a dog that could do the “Greyhound bus logo” thing with all of her legs parallel to the ground at the same time in a full fledged glorious RUN.

    She just runs and runs.

    I brought her home from an animal shelter and put her in the back yard so she could do her business. And she just started running like a fool around that yard. It was like she’d been cooped up in that glass case dreaming of the moment she could just run and run and run. And she loves to run like no dog I’ve ever seen.

    And boy is it ever fun to watch her race around looking so happy to be racing around.

  7. Laura Hill Says:

    Very interesting that I came across your blog. In 2006 we were looking at dachshund breeders and I stumbled upon thelongandshortofit.com in Central Texas. At the time I had a toddler, a preschooler, and a first grader. Her site had dachsadors and she explained that she thought it would be the perfect mix for families with small children. They combined the strong skeleton of the lab with the small sleek look of the dachshund. We took a drive down there with the plan to get a male, but a little female chose our daughter. If you go to that site and click on dachsadors you can see my kids with the puppies.

    The way they “did” our dog was to artificially inseminate a female black lab with dachshund and get a litter of 50/50 puppies. Zippy’s mom is half/half and looks like a short legged lab. Her name is Velvet. When Velvet was old enough, they bred her with dachshund studs. The result was 3/4 dachshund 1/4 lab puppies. Zippy looks like a stocky dachshund. Her personality, though, is very un-dachshund like. She thinks that she is ENORMOUS. She is our protector from anything threatening, including cockroaches, neighbors, geckos, or even our parakeets.

    Anyway, I wanted to let you know how they created the dachsadors at their kennel. They have now retired their mamas and stopped breeding them, which is why I was messing around online looking up dachsadors. Glad I found this nice blog!

  8. Laura Hill Says:

    Oh, the link from your blog goes straight to the site I recommended. It opens directly to a photo of my children holding our dog, Zippy. The bottom left of the screen when the page opens is our daughter being chosen by Zippy (armful of squirming puppies). In the middle of the screen is an older Zippy with all three kids. Zippy is now almost 8 and still in great health. Anyone with Facebook can see her here: https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=424858426999&set=a.403605396999.187043.511331999&type=3&theater

    Blessings,
    Laura Hill

  9. Michael Eden Says:

    Laura Hill,

    And blessings to you.

    Thanks a lot for adding those personal details that better help people understand the math behind “Dachsadore.” We now know: it is artificial insemination of Dachshund daddy to Labrador mommy. I’m glad to know that; because the alternatives just boggled the mind!!!

    But in that artificial insemination process, obviously breeders are going to a lot of trouble to give us Dachsadors.

    Mine has really opened up my eyes to the world of “smaller dogs.” She’s pretty sure she’s worth all the trouble of immaculate conception only for dogs.

    I’ve always been a guy who likes large, athletic dogs – the last two being Rottweilers. It’s a rather large leap to go from loving Rottweilers to loving Dachsadors.

    This one just seemed to pick me out for the sucker in the crowd when I adopted her. I was planning on adopting a German Shepherd mix when this one impressed me with the sweet, bright, exuberant spirit that she has had ever since. And she particularly manifests that spirit when she is running around like a little fool.

    At the same time, it’s amazing how adaptable she is. When it’s time to run, she’s taking advantage of the moment to run; when it’s time to calm down, she does that amazingly fast.

    She’s just a real delightful dog.

    It sounds like Zippy worked out pretty well for you, too!

  10. Ericka Matias Says:

    This article was so lovely. My Daschund gave birth to 6. half breed labradr pups. They are tO gorgeous and I was worried that that was going to be an odd combination. Thank you for your comment and photos!

  11. Michael Eden Says:

    Ericka Matias,

    I have a feeling some Dachsadores take more after their Dachschund side, some take more after their Lab side, and some (like my girl) take near equal measure from both.

    I think this dog is one of the prettiest I’ve seen. She is so powerful and yet so streamlined. And she is just a wonderful dog.

    Good luck with your pups!

  12. Dog Lover Says:

    I am glad your Lab-Doxie crosses are happy and healthy. Unfortunately, I have seen the other side of these breedings and it is dark and disgusting. The dogs don’t come out perfectly half and half. Nature works on a scale. And the breeders don’t want to talk about the deformed puppies they breed. The large, heavy lab bodies sitting on short crooked legs that can barely lift their weight. This type of breeding is an abomination to nature. I am so happy that you love your dog, and you have been lucky that he is so healthy. But, please don’t promote these dogs.

  13. Michael Eden Says:

    Dog Lover,

    I actually didn’t know about the “bad examples” of Dachsadors.

    I only recently found out that they are generally the result of artificial insemination. And I agree with you that that aint a good thing. God’s dogs can reproduce without syringes.

    The dog I WILL promote is my own beautiful little specimen.

    P.S. My dog was a shelter or “rescue” dog. She was found at about eight weeks of age in a meadow. I always wondered if her breeder may have just tossed her fearing she was one of the kinds of problems you describe.

  14. Lauren Says:

    I have a dachsador too! I like to call him a Wienerdor. Lol he’s the funniest, smartest, best dog I’ve ever had. He’s amazingly smart. I taught him to sit when he was not even a month old. He’s so loyal. And obsessed with attention. He sleeps in between me and my boyfriend.(lol it drives us crazy sometimes). Every time we take him to the dog park people always ask us what kind of dog he is. And their fascinated with it. Lol its a great topic when people come over or we go somewhere with him.

  15. Michael Eden Says:

    Lauren,

    I never cease being amazed at my little girl. That said, I have been continually amazed and enthralled with every dog I’ve ever had!

    This little thing in particular is a “chick magnet.” Women just ADORE this dog. And she knows just how to “play up” her advantate, too: she’ll wag her tail at a cocky angle, do her play bow, and prance for them while they tell her how beautiful her coat is and how much they’d like to take her home.

    Mine usually loves to sleep at the foot of the bed, either right up against the back of my knees when I’m on my side or (if I’m on my back) between my feet.

    She’s only truly content when she’s with her humans. She doesn’t have actual “separation anxiety” but she has the most mournful look in the world on her fact when we leave in the morning. But other than that she’s the most joyful dog I’ve ever been around – especially when she’s just flat-out racing around to glorify in the fact that God made her fast.

  16. Lionel Says:

    Hi Michael,
    u also have one like this, but i think they are called dachshunbdlab mix of dachshund and Labrador, its the best dog arround its lovely and funny, it’s a male, and i was wondering not how it’s was done, i what to know to which dog i need to pair to have more like this, do you have any idea?
    well, great article
    if you mail me i will send you pics of him, he is just beautiful.

  17. Michael Eden Says:

    i what to know to which dog i need to pair to have more like this, do you have any idea?

    Lionel,

    Laura Hill said:

    The way they “did” our dog was to artificially inseminate a female black lab with dachshund and get a litter of 50/50 puppies.

    That’s the most I know about it.

    Someone who called themselves “Dog Lover” posted a warning that sometimes these “Dachsadore” breedings go horribly wrong. Just to warn you on that end. I imagine birth defects will happen to ANY dog breedings; but one can readily see how they would be more likely in this kind of breeding.

    I personally would never consider “artificial insemination” as a way to breed dogs in the case where it is physically impossible (as in short-legged Dachschund daddy and tall Lab mommy) for the dogs to breed as nature intended. But if I saw another healthy Dachsadore pup, I’d sure be considering it.

  18. John V. Brennan Says:

    I like the name Labraweiner… i just fostered a Labradoodle, and that’s what made me think of it. I just now adopted a Labraweiner… Natalie… This dog is a Riot! …gets along with my other dog Minit… in fact, we got her to be a therapeutic companion for Minit… Minit lost her partner December 2012 and has been languishing. We’re hoping that Natalie livens things up… so far so good. After yesterday in the park, things are looking up… Minit hasn’t shown that trottin’ spring in her step for a long while… made me very happy… at first i thought Natalie wouldn’t work out… Minit is a laid back, low key, senior… and Natalie… a 6 year old Firecracker…

    Natalie is good with our 3 cats, and they with her. Some adjustment but not much… Natalie gets excited about them sometimes especially when the cats go racing around the house.
    They’re not all Buds and the cats wouldn’t miss Natalie if she disappeared… but they’re working things out… the cats and Natalie like to play, so they have something in common.

    You’re so right about their speed and agility. Unbelieveable! I took her and Minit to a very large park nearby… and turned Natalie loose… she got both, Minit and I, moving quicker than normal… which was good… and it was fascinating to watch her go. Sometimes I lost her… I’d look around… and then Zoom! …she come flying by from behind me… she’d disappear into the underbrush, and then come out, flying through the air at some other distance point…

    Very Intelligent and Attentive… I call her, she comes, and from a mile away… and I just yell, from a hundred yards away… “Okay, go to car now”… she runs over to the car and waits… and I’ve only had her a week!… she needs some fine tuning, but from day one, Very Quick Learner…

    Highly Recommended. Lovable, Smart, Fun, Playful, Protective… Like a Lab.. with a Lab like respectable Bark… but with a compact, easy to maintain, physically excellent, high flyin’ body, fit anywhere body…

  19. Michael Eden Says:

    John V. Brennan,

    Neat write-up of your “Labraweiner.” Thanks for sharing it.

    Mine has a bark like you’re describing: she is a VERY quiet dog and rarely ever barks unless there is clearly something that needs to be barked at. But when she barks, it’s a LAB bark that comes out of her.

    I also got a smile as you described your Natalie’s running around. I have never seen a dog that loves to run as much as this dog of mine. And she races around the same way yours does.

    My dog is by no means perfect. But she is a danged good dog and she’s got personality exploding out of her and I love her dearly.

  20. Deb DeFazio Says:

    Just got our dachsador on Sunday from a rescue in DC. We recently lost both our yellow and black lab in the last six months. When this guy came up for adoption we had to give hime a try and reading this has helped so much. He is fast and elegant, loving and friendly. Never stops wagging his tail either. I will get another if the opportunity arises. For 8 months old he listens well (like a lab) and is learning quickly. It’s only day 2 and we all love him to death. Thanks for your story. It was information and great!

  21. Michael Eden Says:

    Deb DeFazio,

    Hey, Deb, that’s just super. And I thank YOU for sharing that.

    Your dog and my dog seem to have a lot in common:

    He is fast and elegant, loving and friendly. Never stops wagging his tail either. I will get another if the opportunity arises. For 8 months old he listens well (like a lab) and is learning quickly

    Other than the fact that mine is a female, it was like, “check,” “check,” “check,” “check” and “check.”

    Somebody left a comment about these dogs being bred via artificial insemination. And said that there were tragic examples of dogs that shouldn’t be bred together being bred together.

    I can’t argue about that. I have no clue. All I know is that, like you, I saw a puppy up for adoption, and I adopted that puppy (that had already been bred and born whether I adopted her or not). And she’s just been a super dog. Like you said, elegance in constant motion (it’s like, as a Dachschund, she always wanted to embrace her hound heritage, but now her legs – thanks to the Lab – are just long enough to seriously be able to run like she always wanted to). Another thing I love about mine is how quickly she can go from “play mode” to “settle down mode.” As exited and playful as this dog loves to be, she’ll calm right down as needed/wanted.

  22. John V. Brennan Says:

    My Labraweiner Natalie came from a couple who didn’t have time to take care of her and her needs. The couple had a fairly new child, a crawler, and so things, priorities changed around the home. They also had two collies. The husband worked 3rd shift and was of course sleeping during the day. This left the wife to take care of everybody. It was too much for her. Natalie was somewhat needy, and she wasn’t able to get the activity she needed. With the added demands of the child, Natalie became more and more neglected, and her behavior became a real concern for them.

    The couple also were concerned about Natalie’s hair (shedding), fleas, although they said she rarely had any. Natalie was shaved down when we met her. I believe their hair issues came from the fact that they were feeding her the cheapest dog food you could find. Natalie liked to play, of course (Lab!), and they were concerned about a nipping accident with the child, I believe especially because Natalie was on the same level as the child.

    I believe the Collies spent most of their time outside or in the garage or something. I didn’t see them. When the couple were married, the collies belonged to the wife, Natalie belonged to the husband. I believe, and this is just my instinct that there was a bit of “stepmom” syndrome attached to the decision to find Natalie a new home. But I could understand their situation. Especially after myself having Natalie for a while. Lots of Energy. But as someone else mentioned here… tons of energy “out there”, but in the home, just like any ol’ dog and no way neurotic like some very small dogs can be. Must be the Lab in her.

    The couple were very religious. The husband was the organist for the church they went to and even had a real church organ in his home that he custom designed. I could tell by the deco around the home that they were Very religious. The husband said when he got Natalie as a puppy, he thought Natalie was more a Lab, was expecting that, and was surprised somewhat, when Natalie stopped growing. But the thing is, he said nothing about artificial insemination. I doubt he would condone it. The previous owner had a litter of pups, and it wasn’t til sometime after they were born that they were able to know who the father was.

    At first I was dumbfounded as to how such a thing could happen. But we took Natalie home and I started doing some research. That’s how I found this blog. I was surprised to see that, sure enough, there was a whole population of these Lab/Dachshund mix dogs out there. I thought at the time, just like some kind of designer dogs. That’s when I started to believe things. They do have distinct characteristics that indicate a specific breed of dog. for one thing, like the pics in this blog show, they have tremendously muscled legs for such small dogs. Of course that must be what makes them so unbelievably fast. I had her out last night running free out in a mowed field behind the local high school where we like to go romping. I was with my Sweetheart. My girl was astounded at how fast Natalie was. Natalie can cover a football field or two full of ground in seconds. It’s just damn amazing! And I love that berzerk darting around she does while “hunting”. It’s hysterical… or when she’s popping up and running like a gazelle through tall grass.

    Anyway, I guess artificial insemination is one way to get a Lab/Dachshund mix, but I gotta believe also, that mother nature can get the job done just as well.

    In any event… whaddadawg!!!

  23. Michael Eden Says:

    John V. Brennan,

    As to whether a “Dachsador” (or a “Labraweiner”) can be bred by natural means rather than merely artificial insemination, having seen dogs do the wild thing, I have to agree with you: anything is possible wherever two “lovers” of any breed or species are determined enough.

    Yeah, fast. If I could run the way my Dachsador runs, I would be the greatest human athlete who ever lived, bar none. The only thing that impresses more than her sheer “both-legs-simultaneously-parallel-to-the-ground” speed is her amazing agility and ability to suddenly cut and change direction. I just love to watch her take off like a rocket.

    “Whaddadawg” is a great way to put it.

    I’ve always loved big, athletic dogs. I got her because I was thinking (still am!) of fleeing California before Democrats murder every single one of us BEFORE the wrath of God sends a massive earthquake in divine judgment. Didn’t want to have to try to find a temporary rental home with a giant dog. And this one was just too dang cute to pass up.

    My Dachsador has done nothing but impress me since I brought her home. Like I say in the article, she has changed the way I look at dogs forever.

    Thanks for your comment!

  24. John V. Brennan Says:

    …yep… never seen a dog that could so agilically (my word) dart around so much, so fast, and nose to the ground. Trouble is, on a long leash, she wants to do the same thing so she pulls, tugs, darts left, right, and sometimes shoots by and to behind me. The Solution I found is this: a Hands-Free Waist Harness.

    I took a nice thick leather belt, punched a hole in the side, and put a carabiner type clasp through it. Then I made a very short leash, about 12 inches, with a clasp on one end and a metal ring on the other, which I attach to the lead coming off Natalies chest harness. In short, she’s leashed to my belt, my hands are free, and she’s to the left of me.

    I then put another carabiner clasp on the front/left side of the belt to hang a canvas treat bag, and slobber towel (don’t forget the slobber towel). Optionally I wear a cheap home depot canvas nail pouch wrapped around my waist, full of treats… good stuff, not dog stuff… hot dog bits mixed with cheese work great… the goal is to make Near and to the Left Side of me and Paying Attention for My direction changes better than what’s out in front of me on the ground.

    …it works fantastic, and I put the same setup on my right side for my other dog, a large Black Lab Mix, “Minit”… so now I can walk both dogs, mini-minit (natalie) on the left and Large Minit, on the right… at my pace, with my Hands Free. Natalie got it in only 2 walks. Now she just walks along side of me now… no jerking, pulling, or darting around, and has learned “Left” and “Right” (making turns can trip one up, if they don’t know you’re changing direction).

    We stop at corners before we cross. I can get them to stop and sit as well. I took them downtown to the annual “Strawberry Festival”, through crowds, around obstacles, and lots of people… just perfect. We stopped to let some little kids pet them… and then stopped again at an ice cream booth where with My Hands Free I was able to get ice cream for all of us… then sit on a bench and eat it… without having to worry about holding on to two leashes.

    The Waist-Belt Harness thing makes for much more peaceful and enjoyable walks that’s for sure. I look forward to bringing them downtown for walks. I feel it’s good for them to have some off territory mental stimulation, especially around lots of people, and/or things to see, sniff, and pee on.

    So if your Labraweiner Dawg tends to jerk you around on a leash, this might be the way to go, or at least try. I hope my story here helps someone have peaceful, enjoyable walks as we do.

    I’m not allowed to fall any more due to 3 new fusions in my lower spine. On several previous walking excursions, with the normal leash and collar bit, I’ve tripped up several times walking them both together. Now it’s a walk in the park, per se, so to speak, etc…

  25. Michael Eden Says:

    John V. Brennan,

    In my case, I am able to just let my flying atomic weiner go. She races over the desert whenever she sees a jackrabbit or squirrel or lizard or bird to chase. She LOVES to chase whatever will run from her and after a good chase she’ll do a victory lap.

    She’s pretty darned good about coming back. I have moderate high trust about her not crossing the couple of roads that we have to cross. And if worse comes to worse, I blow a whistle and she comes back immediately.

    But, yeah, I’ve got to agree with your position: she’s not the best thing on a leash. She’s spoiled and wants to get off it and get down to her chases (which of course makes it mostly my fault).

  26. Susan Says:

    I have a black lab and dachshund mix she is smaller than yours but she acts just like you said yours does! I always wondered where her energy and love to run came from. I adopted her from a shelter and she’s definitely made a huge impact on me. Any small animal from bugs to rabbits and raccoons she chases. She plays with a mirror it’s hilarious, when we put it up she stands there looking at the cabinet like “I know it’s in there!” She is my world :)

  27. John V. Brennan Says:

    Ha!!! …just bought a whistle last night!

  28. christina lee Says:

    i love hearing all of your stories just thought i would let you know that my full blood dash male natural bread with my full blood black lab female lets just say i was surprised to see them locked didnt think it was possible but nature has its ways i guess lol she just gave birth to a littler of 6 about 1/2 hr ago lol so cute!!!!

  29. Michael Eden Says:

    I always wondered where her energy and love to run came from

    Susan,

    All I have is a theory for mine that may apply to yours (they are both shelter dogs). When I adopted mine, she was in a glass “fish tank” (they kept the young pups this way). And apparently, she was so confined for a good about weeks that way. When I brought her home and put her in her new yard for the first time, she was so exited and so happy that she just ran and ran and ran.

    And she has been running like that ever since. She simply LOVES to run – almost as if she’s still trying to make up for the two weeks’ running time she lost in that glass cage.

    Mine isn’t too “freaky” with mirrors. She loves the television – especially if there are animals or children involved. If I’m watching NatGeoWild as I often do, and particularly if there is a dog-like critter involved, she will get so exited that she’ll get right in front of the TV and watch every movement and every nuance. At times, she’ll rear up on her hind legs and bark and bark. And then she’ll just get so exited that she can’t contain herself anymore and she’ll start racing around the house like a little fool. And keep coming back to the TV and then back to racing around the house. Pretty soon she finds a stuffed toy to “fight” so she can both play and watch the TV at the same time.

    She is an absolute nut. And I have to admit to being a nut, too – because the nuttier she is the more I love her for it.

  30. Michael Eden Says:

    Ha!!! …just bought a whistle last night!

    John V. Brennan,

    I started carrying my whistle in order to try to frighten away coyotes. But I noticed that when I blew it, my dog came racing back to me.

    Hope it works as well for you as mine does for me.

  31. Michael Eden Says:

    christina lee,

    So we now have it official from an eyewitness: “Dachsadores” or “Labraweiners” most certainly CAN be “naturally bread.”

    Thanks for sharing that. It cleared up the “unnatural” charge.

    Would love to see those puppies!!!

  32. Geoff Binney Says:

    where can I find one? My kids are dying for one just like that.

  33. Michael Eden Says:

    That’s a good question.

    I just got “lucky” because I wasn’t even LOOKING for one and actually probably would have had a bias against a Dachsador if I had known that that was what she was.

    There ARE breeders who are intentionally breeding the number one AKC breed with Dachschunds (which are also in the top ten of AKC breeds) to get a “smaller Lab.”

    I just went to the pound and picked out the cutest dog, myself.

  34. John V. Brennan Says:

    Hi Geoff… I found my little girl on Craigslist, by accident… she’s pure Joy! …at first I thought… “Lab/Dachshund… who are they kiddin’!”… but sure enough, there you have it! Check Ebay classifieds as well. I rescued a senior little ol’ lady dawg from there… est. 11-13 yrs. old…in bad shape… after tons of great care, great food, special supplements, exercise, etc… she became so beautiful, Everybody who saw her, commented, and she became so active, could romp for hours, every day, and be no worse for the wear… she passed away this past December, damn liver abscess… had her for 16 months, my Gemma, some of the Best 16 months of my life… yes… check out the classifieds, and shelters… and maybe some Lucky Labraweiner will get found by You…

  35. Michael Eden Says:

    she became so beautiful, Everybody who saw her, commented, and she became so active, could romp for hours, every day, and be no worse for the wear

    John V. Brennan,

    Yep, that sounds like a Dachsador (or Labraweiner), all right.

  36. Andrea Says:

    Wow! I was just tooling around the internet to see if I could find a mix like the one I have and wala! What an exquisite job you have done in describing the characteristic of this breed! Thank you for sharing such a diamond in the rough — as I like to call her. Although our eight year daughter has named her “Cupcake”. She is the spitting image of yours and is absolutely in top form as she gallops, trots, and exuberantly chases her tail — simply for the fun of it. I love her like no other and it is because of the finer details of her traits: Her wagging tail when a glance is stolen her way. I love her facial gestures as well as seeing her beautiful smile.

  37. Michael Eden Says:

    Andrea,

    Thanks for sharing your dog. Mind and yours separated at birth, perhaps?

    I was walking through my mall, and saw a Dachshund calendar. The Dachshund on the front was the spitting image of mine in many ways – except not nearly as pretty.

    Labradors are HANDSOME dogs. And I think that Dachshunds are attractive in their own way. They have a “sleek” look.

    In the case of mine and apparently yours, the two breeds just perfectly complemented one another into something truly wonderful. When I look at mine from the side, I see a Dachshund face. When I look at her from the front, much more of a Lab face. And when she moves, that powerful Lab musculature in that sleek, compact Dachshund body just EXPLODES. She is so fast and so agile and so graceful it is just unreal.

    And for all the fact that I’m a big dog guy (who particularly loves Rottweilers), I love my Dachsador DEARLY and wouldn’t trade her for the world.

  38. Ashley Says:

    My husband and I recently adopted a puppy. The father was a dachshund and the mother was a black lab. We brought her home when she was 8 weeks old, and she is now almost 4 months old. We fell in love with her right away, and we named her Tonks.
    People are always asking us what breed she is and commenting on her cuteness. I am always observing and admiring her different traits, which are a unique blend of dachshund and lab. Tonks is still a puppy, but she looks very similar to your dachsador. The main difference is that our puppy has some darker fur and proportionally longer legs right now.
    Thank you for sharing your dachsador! I enjoyed finding another dog like ours :)

  39. Michael Eden Says:

    Ashley,

    Thanks for sharing your story.

    At the time I wrote this, I just didn’t find a whole lot of information on “Dachsadors” (or whatever you want to call Dachshund-Labrador mixes). As soon as I found out what my little cutey was, I wanted to learn about other people’s experiences with this “breed.”

    And of course, most of the people who have stumbled onto this article were doing the exact same thing.

    I wanted people to see pictures of mine both as a puppy and as an adult so they could have a better idea how their dogs would “turn out” (understanding that there are a lot of possible combinations/variations between turning out more like a Lab and turning out more like a Dachshund).

    It’s nice to get lots of comments like yours so that both I and others to come can learn a little bit more about their dogs and what makes them tick.

    This darling of mine is just beyond wonderful. She is so sweet natured, and so smart, and so loving, and so athletic. But the thing I love about her the most is that she is THE most joyful animal I have ever seen, let alone owned.

  40. Alex Portet Says:

    You really love her! What a touching and affectionate piece of writing.

  41. Michael Eden Says:

    Alex Portet,

    Thank you, Alex.

    I really do love this little girl. Yesterday on my walk a rather lovely woman I encountered on a trail just went ga-ga over her. She’d never seen anything like my little Dachsador darling and couldn’t stop loving her and describing how beautiful she is.

  42. roxy Says:

    How big was your Dachsador when you got her at 10 weeks. Mine is 9 weeks and 5lbs. I am trying to figure out how big she will get.

  43. Michael Eden Says:

    roxy,

    Somewhere I actually have that info on a calendar. But to be honest with you, I have absolutely no idea where it is.

    I’m pretty sure that mine was a little bit heavier than yours. If I come across her weight, I’ll try to remember to come back to this.

  44. roxy Says:

    Thank you very much!

  45. Jennie Says:

    I am fostering a mix that I did my research on, only to find out she was a Dachsador. She’s all black and looks like a miniture lab with a long pointy nose. I, like you, love Rotts. In fact, I have a very spoiled 4 yr old Rott/Shepherd mix whom I love dearly. I’ve been taken my this adorable little ball of energy, but am hesitant to commit to adopting primarily because I think she’s too much for the other dog. We are still in the getting to know you period, with the dachsador being needy and fiesty, and the other dog being a bit snarley at times. They are co-existing right now, and I wonder how they would do long term. What are your thoughts? Will I be able to mellow the Dachsador out a little? I am confident in time I can break some of the neediness and chewing (she’s aprox 2 and still displaying puppy mannerisms). Thank you for your website! It gives me much more insight than I had before!

  46. Michael Eden Says:

    Jennie,

    A lot of the “mellowing” has to do with the Lab, I believe. Labs tend to be hyper as pups and young dogs, then settle down become TRULY good dogs.

    Mine has mellowed out quite a bit since she was a puppy. But she is still ready (at nearing 4) to play at the drop of a hat.

    I believe you’ve got a good chance to socialize your two dogs together especially if your larger Rott mix appears to be willing.

    I know when you’re first getting two dogs together, the trick is to leash them in the same room at a distance and then gradually bring them closer together. But that may not work so well when they’ve already been introduced.

    If I were in your shoes, I would be reading up online for tips to socialize dogs. Obviously, what you want most is to keep them from fighting.

    Most of the time, two dogs just need to establish the pecking order and they’ll be okay. But one of the dogs could obviously get hurt – especially given the extreme difference in their sizes.

    As for my Dachsador, she has something of an issue because I never tried to train her (in other words, it’s my fault). I’ll explain: when I first got her she was VERY submissive to the point of being a submissive urinator (she would pee when she met anyone new as a sign of submission). And she was scared of and would run from other dogs. Well, after walking her in the desert every single day where she could run off the leash, she started chasing things (butterflies, lizards, squirrels, rabbits) but would run from coyotes. Now she chases the coyotes and yeah they run from HER. And she is pretty sure of herself now. She doesn’t get around other dogs much because I don’t bring her around other dogs. It was surprising to see her attack another dog given how submissive and fearful she’d been when I first got her. She won’t fight over food, but she WILL fight for human affection. She doesn’t want anyone getting pets but HER.

    My darling NEVER Has chewed anything that wasn’t a chew treat or a toy. It’s still amazing to me.

    It would be quite an effort to train that out of mine, I think. But I also think it could be done if I needed to do it.

    It probably comes down to how committed you are to adopting this dog (or ANY dog, as it would likely come up again, wouldn’t it?) with the one you’ve got. If you make the decision that you will adopt, you then simply do what you have to do to train the dogs, recognizing that dogs are intelligent animals and there is very little they cannot be taught to do.

    Good luck, Jennie.

  47. norma Says:

    i have 8 week old pups and looking for good homes for them was wondering if anyones intrested

  48. Michael Eden Says:

    norma,

    At eight weeks, I’d say you should be trying to find them homes as soon as you can.

    Unfortunately with a blog like this one, you have people reading on the other side of the planet and not one other person in your area.

    I would recommend something like “The PennySaver” if you’ve got that (a publication that provides FREE ads for people giving stuff away or selling for under something like $50) or Craigslist.

    You might also go to your veterinarian and ask them for recommendations on how to advertise or where to give away puppies.

    Hope they all go to good homes!!!

  49. Destiny Says:

    I have a black lab x a dachshund, his name is tank but hes built lower to the ground. Hes not very athletic, hes more of a loafer. But to get a Dachsador or as I call them Dachradors, you have to have a FEMALE lab and a MALE dachshund. If it’s flipped then the female will die during birth due to the puppies being too big to come out. Hope that answered your question.

  50. Michael Eden Says:

    Destiny,

    When you wrote that I remembered that I thought I’d seen someone say something about that before. And someone else had pointed that out above here.

    But that writer didn’t give the reason (that a female Doxy is too small to handle the bigger pups). And your comment confirms that there’s a definite way to do this.

    My Dachsador is rather like “the baby bear’s stuff” in the Goldilocks story: she’s “just right” between a bigger, longer-legged Lab and a smaller, shorter-legged Dachshund. She still loves to run for the sheer joy of running about as much as the day I brought her home and she started racing around the backyard like a little fool as soon as I put her down.

    She’s just been a terrific dog with a terrific temperament and a terrific personality. Well, other than the fact that she’s pretty convinced that she’s a princess and I am her royal servant.

    She always comes racing to me when I call her, though. Mostly because I think it just gives her another chance to RUN.

  51. Amy Says:

    Do you know if the mom or the dad was a dachshund? I have a dachshund and I think maybe the neighbor dog (a black lab) may have gotten to her. I was waiting for her 3 heat cycle to breed her. But maybe it happened sooner

  52. Michael Eden Says:

    Amy,

    Laura Hill posted this in her comment to this article:

    The way they “did” our dog was to artificially inseminate a female black lab with dachshund and get a litter of 50/50 puppies.

    Of course, the way human breeders breed has little to do with how the dogs THEMSELVES would do it.

    If you’re worried that a male lab – i.e. a big dog – mated with your Dachshund female – I’d call your vet and ask how dangerous that could be for your dog (giving birth to pups produced by a male who is so much bigger).

    It’s possible your Dachshund wouldn’t have any problem delivering such a litter (if there even IS a litter) and it’s possible it could literally be life-endangering for her. I truly don’t know.

    I have NO IDEA how mine “happened” as she was an 8-week-old shelter rescue pup when I first laid eyes on her.

    But she’s 4-years old now, and other than the fact that she is DETERMINED to go greet people if they get within her “zone” when she’s off leash – and a good trainer could obviously correct that if I really was determined to pursue it – she is an utterly perfect dog. I couldn’t have a better companion.

  53. Tina Says:

    Thanks for the information. We had a dachshund and a lab, both lived to be 14. We miss them and their sister terribly. We can’t decide IF we get another dog which one we’d pick and we thought why not get a mix of both!

  54. Michael Eden Says:

    Tina,

    Good luck to you.

    Other than the fact that my Dachshund-Lab mix LOVES people to the point of being dangerous with her tail wag (I’ve never had a dog more determined to run over and greet total strangers), she is an absolutely marvelous pet.

    Mine is about 44 lbs now and about four years old. She’s a little calmer, but she hasn’t slowed down a bit.

    Given that you’ve had both breeds and loved them, a Dachsador would be a GREAT choice, I’m positive.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 530 other followers

