Pictures Of My Praying Mantis Babies

I know. I know. I have many mouths to feed. And lots of baby shoes to buy.

Baby praying mantises don’t need diapers, do they?

All attempts at humor aside, I’ve always been fascinated by praying (or preying) mantises. So I manufactured an excuse that I clearly needed to buy a few egg cases.

And what do you know, I was fortunate enough to capture the action as one of the eggs hatched!

If you have a lot of babies all at once, does that mean you get a lot of cigars?

This was an event that needed to be shared with the world, so like any proud “daddy” here are my new babies (you can click on it to see it larger):

P1210883

P1210890

P1220111 - Copy

Tags: , , , , , , ,

6 Responses to “Pictures Of My Praying Mantis Babies”

  1. Anna Bennett Says:

    That is so very cool.Thank you for sharing with us.

  2. Anonymous Says:

    Those are cool! Sometimes I get them at my house. I never see them when they are that small though.

  3. Michael Eden Says:

    Anna Bennett,

    You are very welcome.

    It is an incredible, beautiful world that God made for us. And so very often the most beautiful things are right outside your front door if you’re able to just take the time to look.

  4. Michael Eden Says:

    Anonymous,

    They’re about the only large insect on the planet that the average woman likes to hold.

    Just like they’re the only insect on the planet that is capable of turning it’s head.

    It’s fun going out early every morning and seeing how many of them I can find.

  5. dog walker Says:

    lost my “dog walker” cookie. So I look like anonymous. I wonder what is up with that.

  6. Michael Eden Says:

    lost my “dog walker” cookie. So I look like anonymous. I wonder what is up with that.

    dog walker,

    I’ll say what I’ve had to say many times before dating back to when I was a child: “I did not eat your cookie.”

    And even though it was a lie when I said it all the other times – because, what can I say, I really, really like cookies, and most especially other people’s cookies – this time it’s really true.

Leave a Reply

