My Theory of God And Miracles: Why He Does Them Sometimes And Not Others And For Certain People Over Others

This won’t be a long article, and I won’t try to reason through each statement with Scripture as I often tend to do in articles dealing with Christian faith.

This is about an existential question that every Christian experiences at some point: why does God act?  Why doesn’t the God who acted before not act now?  Why do some people experience more miracles than others?

Let me begin by answering all of these questions this way: ultimately, I don’t know.  Only God will be able to answer all of our particular questions.

But I have a theory that I thought I would briefly share.

I have experienced many miracles.  There have been times when things have happened to and in my life that no one on this earth will ever be able to tell me wasn’t God directly intervening on my behalf.

And I have also experienced moments when I felt like I was twisting in the wind.

One might begin to feel as if God is a switch with a faulty circuit: He might come on for you, He might not.

I’ll put the question this way: if God intervenes for me, why doesn’t He ALWAYS intervene?  Why sometimes and not others?  Why in certain situations but not in every situation?

At the macro level, God is sovereign.  That means that God is ALWAYS working and ALWAYS in control.  But sometimes God allows the universe to continue its natural cycle – He created a causal universe for a reason, after all – rather than entering in directly and intervening for His children.

But why?  If He’s going to act on our behalf, why doesn’t He always act on our behalf?

What occurs to me is that God is like a parent: should a parent constantly intervene for his/her kid every single time in every single situation?  Or would that not produce a spoiled kid with rather enormous issues?  I dare say that kid would turn out to be soft, self-indulgent, refuse to ever take responsibility as everything would be daddy’s or mommy’s problem to fix, self-excusing, hypersensitive and narcissistic to the point of ridiculousness.  Because everyone would supposed to be really, really nice to that child who would never grow up and always drop their own lives to help them to do everything they needed.

I can here provide an example of truly “bad” parenting when a too-nurturing mother gives her child all he wants rather than the medicine he needs:

In February 2007, Yale clinicians identified in Adam Lanza what they believed were profound emotional disabilities and offered him treatment that they said could give him relief for the first time in his troubled life..

But Adam was angry and anxious, and he didn’t want to go. His mother, Nancy Lanza, constantly placating her son, was inclined to pull away from the treatment, prompting a psychiatric nurse to reach out to his father, Peter Lanza, in an urgent email.

“I told Adam he has a biological disorder that can be helped with medication. I told him what the medicines are and why they can work. I told him he’s living in a box right now and the box will only get smaller over time if he doesn’t get some treatment.”

Nancy Lanza rejected the Yale doctors’ plan. Adam was 14.

Six years later, Adam, now an emaciated recluse and fixated with mass killers, murdered his mother and massacred 20 children and six educators before turning a gun on himself at the elementary school he once attended in the Sandy Hook section of Newtown.

We have in God the One who created both male and female in His image (Genesis 1:27).  The God who had man and woman within Himself in His image has all the attributes of perfect Father as well as perfect mother all in perfect balance.  He will give us the nurturing care that we need; He will also give us the corrective discipline that we need.  He will not allow us to become basket cases due to His excessive care or His excessive neglect.

Miracles and the withholding of miracles are part of that balanced care.  God gives us what we need and not more.  God gives us everything we need and not everything we want.

But there’s more: God CAN’T come to us every time and answer our prayers every time for another reason: because He wants us to have faith in Him through good times and through bad times.  And if we always have faith in Him only through the good times because we’re never allowed to have bad times, where would our faith be?

In order to truly, fully learn to trust, I believe we need to go through difficult, hard times.  And when we truly develop that “hard times” faith, what we’ll see is that God is in our situation with us, giving us just enough, being our daily Bread, as we hold on to Him in our adversity in a way that we could NEVER hold on to Him in our pleasure and in our pleasant places.

Then there’s those people whom God always does miracles for.  What’s up with them?

Well, God has ALWAYS worked in the lives of particular people.  Read the Bible: did God work more in Moses’ life than in the lives of all of his people?  Of course.  And the same with Noah and with Abraham and with David and on and on.  You just see that throughout the Bible: God picks out certain people, and works through them to reach the rest of His people.  He reaches out to people through people.  And those people see things that other of His people don’t see.

It’s not that God loves those people more, or that those people are necessarily more spiritual.  It is not those who are called who are special; it is always the God who called them who is special.

God doesn’t pick these people for who they are; often He picks them in SPITE of who they are.  And then He molds them and refines them according to His plan for their lives.

Anyway, God gives me the miracles I need to keep trusting Him and following Him and believing in His provision.  And He gives me other believers and their miracle stories to know that He’s working in the lives of ALL His people rather than just in mine.  And I am not only able to receive the miracles I receive, but also the miracles that other Christians receive as I learn to trust my God and grow in that trust through good time and through bad times.

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “My Theory of God And Miracles: Why He Does Them Sometimes And Not Others And For Certain People Over Others”

  1. neal Says:

    It is ironic that the living and the dead always cry. Why me?
    Why not? What do you think?
    Sometimes, even Creation and the other stuff gets together, and compares notes. Even if the timing is perfect. I do not know why most do not remember, through all this trouble…

  2. HL Says:

    Excellent and timely post, Michael. This year has been full of heart breaking trials for us, where prayers of many years for a beloved, prodigal adult child have not been answered and it just gets worse. That along with multiple other trials has been leveling at times.

    I have gone through many questions and struggles about it all with our Lord Jesus. I have also, in my saner moments known that this is all about trusting Jesus, WHO He is, His sovereignty and timing and believing at deeper levels that He will work everything together for my good. He is faithful and this is testing our faith to prove its genuineness.

    The mental and emotional battles are real, difficult and painful. He is with us in them, helps and sustains us.

    Thank you for sharing these thoughts, they ministered to me.

    I pray you have a blessed Thanksgiving

  3. Michael Eden Says:

    neal,

    Very insightful understanding.

    There’s a memorable line from the movie “Unforgiven” starring Clint Eastwood:

    The Schofield Kid: [after killing a man for the first time] It don’t seem real… how he ain’t gonna never breathe again, ever… how he’s dead. And the other one too. All on account of pulling a trigger.

    Will Munny: It’s a hell of a thing, killing a man. Take away all he’s got and all he’s ever gonna have.

    The Schofield Kid: Yeah, well, I guess they had it coming.

    Will Munny: We all got it coming, kid.

    http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0105695/quotes

    Now listen to the words of Jesus and tell me if you hear that “We all got it coming, kid” in this:

    About this time Jesus was informed that Pilate had murdered some people from Galilee as they were offering sacrifices at the Temple. 2 “Do you think those Galileans were worse sinners than all the other people from Galilee?” Jesus asked. “Is that why they suffered? 3 Not at all! And you will perish, too, unless you repent of your sins and turn to God. 4 And what about the eighteen people who died when the tower in Siloam fell on them? Were they the worst sinners in Jerusalem? 5 No, and I tell you again that unless you repent, you will perish, too.” — Luke 13:1-5 NLT

    We all got it coming. And even our righteousness according to the Bible amounts to a filthy rag that a woman uses to wipe herself during menstruation.

    When we repent, our eternal destiny can be made secure, Jesus is telling us. But that does not spare us from the many afflictions on this earth that befall us all. Because none of us is categorically more righteous and deserving than the Galilean Jews whom Pilate murdered or the hapless victims who were crushed by the falling of the tower at Siloam.

    My righteousness comes from God – by way of Jesus laying it over me as He took the blame for my sins on His cross – and I can cry out to God like a Father. But I don’t have any right in this world to say “Why me?”

  4. Michael Eden Says:

    HL,

    There are many prayers that people offer that I cannot look into someone’s eyes and say, “The LORD will give you what you ask.” But there is one that I truly can: and that is the prayer of a godly mother for the soul of her prodigal child.

    I am praying for such a mother’s son right now; I’m not praying that he might come back, I’m praying that he WILL come back SOONER rather than later.

    You keep praying and don’t you ever stop. And you keep letting that prodigal know that you love as only a mother can love and that you cannot have true joy in this world until your child is finally right with God. Keep planting the seeds and allowe the LORD to harvest your child at His decreed time.

    The world isn’t fair, HL. We all know that. Some people are more beautiful/handsome, others are more intelligent, others more talented and others more capable. We don’t all get the same things the same way – not in this world, for sure.

    I am learning that lesson that only an entire lifetime can teach: that it’s not about what the LORD gives to someone else; it’s only about what the LORD provides to me in MY need as I call out to Him.

    I can look ahead at my life and have faith because I can also look back behind me and see so many times that I desperately needed God and He was there as Jehovah Jireh, the LORD who provides. And as I turn back to face my future, I don’t know how the LORD will provide, whether He will give me nudges as He enables me to maneuver through my own crises, or whether He will bring someone to help me at just the right moment to come through for me, or whether He will step in with a miracle. But I know that “As for me, I know that my Redeemer lives, And at the last He will take His stand on the earth. Even after my skin is destroyed, Yet from my flesh I shall see God; Whom I myself shall behold, And whom my eyes will see and not another. My heart faints within me!” — Job 19:25-27

Leave a Reply

