Boy, Did Sam’s Club And My Asurion Warranty Ever Come Through For Me

I bought a Samsung tablet about a year and a half ago and meant to use it at my gym to listen to music during my cardio sessions.  But I started watching a TV program and didn’t need the tablet for that.  So the tablet didn’t get much use in spite of the many excellent features it had.

Anyway, I switched gyms and the new gym is still working on getting the cardio room squared away so that people can plug headphones to listen and change channels on the bank of televisions.  So I finally started using the tablet.

I kept the tablet in a plastic bag to keep the screen from getting all scratched up when it was in my gym bag because I had (as one example) a metal lock for the lockers.

Anyway, one night I’m walking home from the gym (proximity to my home being a big factor in my gym-switching decision) and had some water leftover from my water bottle in the bag along with my tablet.  And when I opened the bag I noticed that a little bit of water had gotten on the bag with the tablet.  I didn’t see any water ON the tablet and didn’t think anything of it.

Six or seven hours later, my tablet suddenly came on.  It came on so brightly it woke me up.  And I couldn’t shut the darn thing off.  I literally finally took it into a different room.

When I woke up, the tablet had the opposite problem; I couldn’t turn it ON.  Even after putting it on the charger.

I vaguely remember buying a warranty when I bought the tablet at Sam’s Club.

But danged if I could find the receipt.  I had kept everything in the box.  Which is when I remembered – to my horror – that I had let my nephew use the thing.  And of course he’d very probably (being a kid) just tossed the useless pieces of paper to the side somewhere.

So I didn’t have the receipt and couldn’t even remember when I’d bought the darn thing.  The only thing I had was a PDF manual I’d downloaded subsequently to purchasing the tablet.  And I went to the properties to see when I’d downloaded it and then tried to match that approximate date to my credit card bills.  And was able to see a purchase amount for the ballpark figure to what the tablet would have cost.

So I called up my Palm Desert Sam’s and talked to Esmerelda at the customer service desk.  And she went to work for me.  No, I didn’t buy it when I assumed I had; I’d bought it a couple of months earlier.  She gave me the item number for the tablet, told me that yes, I had bought a warranty and the tablet was still covered, and told me I could come in and they’d print me out a copy of my receipt.

THANK YOU, Sam’s Club.

Armed with that, I called my warranty service, which was a company called Asurion.

I told the representative what happened.  My warranty did NOT cover water damage.  Heck, they could have denied me my claim right over the phone, but the fact that I’d had the thing in a plastic bag was enough for them to grant me the benefit of the doubt that water probably didn’t get on the unit and therefore the cause of the thing not working would have been something else.

They switched me over to a tech, who listened to my story again and again gave me the benefit of the doubt regarding water damage.  He had me try a couple of possible fixes over the phone.  They didn’t work.  So he gave me a UPS label to mail it to them.

I sent it away on a Monday afternoon.

I was bringing in the trash containers on Thursday when the UPS truck came by and screeched to a halt in front of my house.

He had a package for me.  From Asurion.

Oh, oh, I thought.  I assumed that they had looked at the tablet, concluded it was in fact water damage, and rejected my claim and sent me my busted tablet back.  I mean, there was NO WAY they would have fixed it that quick and got it back to me.

Wrong.  I opened up the box and to my delight they fixed it as good as new.  The accompanying paperwork said: “Date Received: 02/17/2015” and “Date Shipped: 02/18/2015.”  It also said, “Our favorite park of the job is saying, ‘Problem solved!’  Your product has been inspected and repaired…'”

Well, we’ve got that one in common: because it just so happens that MY favorite part of their job is hearing them say, “Problem solved!”

They even sent me a new USB cable and charging attachment.

I’m not a rich man, so when I buy something for a couple of hundred bucks and it blows up on me, I’m in the “sad” category.

And when I get something like that back, good as new, when I know that Asurion could have easily rejected my claim, when I know that Sam’s Club could have not gone the extra mile to research my purchase for me, well, I’m in the “happy and grateful” category.

Anyway, I was so pleased I wanted to say “Thank you!” to all parties concerned.  Not every business is honest, by any means.  And even the honest businesses can’t come through every time for every customer.  But Sam’s Club and Asurion sure came through for me, and based on my experience I am a big fan of both businesses.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

