On Barack Obama Needing To Be Reminded He’s Not A Muslim

Did Barack Obama wear a Freudian slip under his trousers Sunday morning?

In an interview Sunday with ABC’s “This Week” host George Stephanopoulos, Obama tried to suggest that FOX News and others “closely allied” to Republicans are promulgating the notion that the Illinois senator is Muslim.

Asked about whether McCain himself has done anything to suggest he’s Muslim, Obama said, “Let’s not play games. What I was suggesting — you’re absolutely right that John McCain has not talked about my Muslim faith. And you’re absolutely right that that has not come…”

“Christian faith,” Stephanopoulos interrupted, correcting Obama.

“… my Christian faith. Well, what I’m saying is that he hasn’t suggested that I’m a Muslim. And I think that his campaign’s upper echelons have not, either. What I think is fair to say is that, coming out of the Republican camp, there have been efforts to suggest that perhaps I’m not who I say I am when it comes to my faith, something which I find deeply offensive, and that has been going on for a pretty long time,” Obama said.

Obama correctly points out that John McCain has not talked about Barack Obama’s Muslim faith.  Why on earth should he, when he has Barack Obama to talk about it himself?

During the Saddleback debate forum, Rick Warren asked John McCain to define rich in terms of taxes.  And McCain said:

I don’t believe in class warfare or re-distribution of the wealth. But I can tell you, for example, there are small businessmen and women who are working 16 hours a day, seven days a week that some people would classify as – quote – “rich,” my friends, and want to raise their taxes and want to raise their payroll taxes.

Let’s have – keep taxes low. Let’s give every family in America a $7,000 tax credit for every child they have. Let’s give them a $5,000 refundable tax credit to go out and get the health insurance of their choice. Let’s not have the government take over the health care system in America.

(APPLAUSE)

So, I think if you are just talking about income, how about $5 million?

(LAUGHTER)

But seriously, I don’t think you can – I don’t think seriously that – the point is that I’m trying to make here, seriously — and I’m sure that comment will be distorted — but the point is that we want to keep people’s taxes low and increase revenues.

Notice, McCain himself said, “But seriously,” and then said he was sure that the comment about “$5 million” would be distorted.  And he was right.  Barack Obama has distorted it over and over again.

So John McCain believes that people don’t count as “rich” unless they’re making $5 million, and Barack Obama believes in Islam.  If you can claim the former because John McCain said it himself, you can now equally claim the latter, because Barack Obama said it himself.

Barack Obama has jumped over and over and over again on what was clearly a joke.  He doesn’t have integrity, or honor for doing so.

Meanwhile, Barack Obama himself acknowledges that John McCain HASN’T accused him of being a Muslim.  And the fact is, McCain won’t accuse Obama of being a Muslim even after Obama with his own lips says, “my Muslim faith.”

When you consider the way Barack Obama clearly and deliberately misrepresented John McCain’s statement about staying in Iraq for 100 years, and clearly and deliberately misrepresented John McCain over not knowing how many houses he owns (he actually doesn’t own any houses; his wife does via separate finances held in trusts), you can see that there is a pattern to Obama.  Like a sleazy lawyer, he will seize upon any verbal misstatement – even if he has to strip out the surrounding context to turn it into a misstatement – and treat it like a smoking gun.

And all the while fallaciously representing himself as some kind of new politician who represents “hope” and “change.”

It’s the difference between honor and dishonor.  And Barack Obama has been running a dishonorable campaign.  It’s the difference between a man who lives by being a straight shooter, and a man who lives by a double standard.

The hypocrisy and double-standard have exploded into prominince since Sarah Palin was announced as Vice President, and hypocritical double standards flew like rain drops in a hurricane.  But it’s been part of the Obama campaign all along.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

10 Responses to “On Barack Obama Needing To Be Reminded He’s Not A Muslim”

  1. Baffled in GA Says:

    I have read Dreams from my Father by Barack Obama because it is always good to read the other side and I have followed his last eight months through every FoxNews report. The man remains an enigma and his Faith remains a mystery. Some current observations:

    Time Magazine has obviously decided that he will be there Man of the Year. Managing Editor Richard Stengel will dress it up as usual with a lot of words in the allocated December edition on how difficult a decision it was to choose only one out of so many but in the final analysis they had to name only one and his name is ….. the name they have been building ever sinc last year.

    A few Time big names have been working towards this end, lead by Joe Klein, to pave the way. Same Joe, I think, published a full page expose some months ago on why the voter has a right to know the God to whom a Presidential Candidate prays for guidance, in that particular case Mitt Romney and they came to the conclusion that Mitt’s religion disqualifies him for the presidency.
    Now however, their Man of the Year Elect with a strange, indeed a very strange, a mixed convoluted jumbled Faith nobody understands or knows of says: “But don’t give people some sort of religious litmus test because I don’t want somebody to question my faith and I’m certainly not going to question somebody else’s.” Nobody asked him for his Faith at this time. He offered the statement in the interview. See FoxNews article Obama Accuses McCain Campaign of ‘Swift Boat Politics’ dated Wednesday, September 10, 2008.

    Who knows what Obama is? Does he know? Time Magazine? Do they know? Everyone is mum because he Messiah says it’s none of your darn business.

  2. Michael Eden Says:

    You bring in quite a few great points.

    Barack Obama parses his faith like a lawyer when necessary, and speaks in generalities most of the time. We’ll never get the real story from him – or from the media. (I have written about his faith; if you’re interested, use the search engine on my blog site and type in “Obama” and “black liberation theology.” Another good search would be “Jeremiah Wright.”

    Time Magazine is getting further and further “out there” all the time. I am still disgusted by the hit piece they did on Mother Teresa.

    I know I’m interested in the religious faith of my President. I don’t want someone in that office who refuses to bow the knee to God, and who wants big government to be a “God-substitute” (a Savior that takes care of us). I don’t need to know every element of a President’s theology, but when something is radically wrong – such as Marxist liberation theology, I WANT TO KNOW too.

    I have seen even positive pieces on Obama that describe him as a man apart and aloof, who doesn’t fully take part, and who is always somewhat on the outside. We don’t know who he is.

    And the only way we will is to force the media to look.

    Thanks for the good comment.

  3. Coenraad Says:

    Thanks for the info on how to get around the blogs. I read a lot but the Net is heavy going. A “Ping back” [whatever that is] in a FoxNews Box pointed to your John McCain 7 Houses thing and that is how I eventually traced you and gradually learned a little by just stumbling along. In fact, I was almost proud of myself [for the very first time in my adult life] just the other day when I found your picture in another site where they pointed back to your main list of articles. Is that the Blog or how do you say it? But you got me hooked now and I shall continue to learn. Just bear with an old fellow who was born long before ballpoint pens were discovered. But I do have two adorable children, both financially independent [son working for himself like his old Dad did] [daughter, ah the love of my life, is in medicine, doing her thing and getting ahead] and I see you also sport a beard. I smoke a pipe though they say smoking shortens your life by twelve years. If that were true and if I believed it I would be 80 now but they say smoking reduced it to a very young 68 years just last month. Good luck in your endeavors.

  4. Let’s get ready to defeat Obama at the Polls! Says:

    I suggest we get Small-Town T Shirts and start wearing them immediately right through Election Day. One side [back or front] in big letters “Small-Town People for McCain and Palin” and on the other side “Moscow TN USA is a Small Town.” [Every town prints its name in there] but go visit Moscow TN in any event. It is beautiful! Browse around for old stuff and local mouth-water delicacies from Grandpa’s days in the Street Market and wear you T Shirt. Obama will go berserk but let him be. Go Michael; get it going. You will make a lot of money too and I will only ask five percent for the idea.

  5. Scaring? You had better think about it? Says:

    Time Magazine won’t print this because they want to make him their Man of the Year in December. FoxNews declined to do it. I don’t know whether Michael will but somebody should.

    What goes through the mind of a man who presses a button to explode a bomb tied around his waist killing himself with the bystanders; the mind of a person who takes two small children with him in the car to pass the security roadblock in Iraq and presses the button killing himself and the children; the mind of the guy who hijacked the plane on 911 to fly straight at the building knowing full well he was dead too? They afterwards counted more than forty of those twisted minds in four plane wrecks that day. Timothy McVey? He was a loner but he had such, or a similarly, programmed mind. Need I mention any more names or examples?

    Two last Questions! Who programs that mind and who is in charge of it when the finger presses the button? You don’t know? And you want to elect Obama as President of America?

  6. Michael Eden Says:

    I just got through writing something similar on another comment, with a slightly different point:

    the road to hell is truly paved with good intentions.

    Osama bin Laden is a man of virtue: his feelings, his beliefs, and his actions all line up – but it is a virtue of total evil.

    The bottom line is, if you don’t have a genuinely moral world view (and might I recommend the Judeo-Christian worldview?), disaster and horror are prone to follow. And it will be people who think they’re doing “good” who will create the horror.

    The Judeo-Christian worldview shaped this country, and brought it to greatness. Today we are still THE most Christian and most religious nation on earth. But the faith that made us great is waning away.

    Ideologues can be brilliant, IQ-wise. But they are so radically committed to a perverse and false view of the world that they will themselves to be stupid. It is a stupid person who cannot see the world as it really is.

    Big government, combined with secular humanism, will invariably lead to totalitarianism. And totalitarianism will lead to oppression. It’s happened again and again.

  7. Michael Eden Says:

    Coenraad,

    Wow! I’m proud for the first time in my adult life now at hearing about this! The Michelle Obama “first time pride” is catching on!

    Obviously, I know you’re kidding, because you have so much to be proud of, and ya clearly are!

    I write for a site called TheAmericanSentinel. And this site serves as a repository of my wit and wisdom (such as it is).

    I tried to smoke a pipe. But the fact that I used to smoke cigarettes (which are the real killers) seemed to make it impossible for me NOT to inhale. But as much as I hate cigarette smoke (makes me nauseous), I LOVE the smell of good pipe tobacco.

    Where are we going to get our “Small-Town People for McCain and Palin” shirts?

  8. Wingman Says:

    You misunderstood me about the T Shirts Michael. I provided the idea for my five percent. You must get the idea published. Start spreading the word. Have one made for someone who is photogenic and take the picture to put in your site. We must make a big thing of it. Even if some big Money Bags catch on and manufacture them nationwide meaning the monetary value of my five percent remaining zero, we have to get the photo’s circulating and people wearing the T Shirts. I am very serious about this. It will energize supporters [with respect to our Lady, but if she would wear one just once] and just a few of her loyal supporters start it will catch on like wild fire. It can become Hurricane “What” and blow Obama out to sea. Repeat: I am serious but I am just the Wingman. Go McEden [one of these idiots who started fuming calling McCain McBush and thought it was clever called me McInsane and another few names in a FoxNews response after I had climbed into him so to you it is in jest] Go McEden go get ‘hem shirts moving.

  9. Coenraad Says:

    I agree 100 percent on the Judeo-Christian viewpoints. It has served the World well and it is worth protecting. One last question in this Box; you mention an article you write for TheAmericanSentinel. I came across a site called American Sentinel when I pressed something in one of your boxes but is says it is closed on request. Please advise.

  10. Michael Eden Says:

    That’s news to me. Were you clicking on something from here, or from theamericansentinel?

    We’ve done a lot of site upgrading over at AS – and anything’s possible.

    I never want to “close” – but OPEN! So I certainly didn’t close any of my stuff.

    Wingman,
    I could copy/paste your shirt-design and send it to a guy who has actually done some shirt making, with your permission. I’ve frankly never marketed anything like that.

Leave a comment